Posted on

The four Architecture Domains within Enterprise Architecture

The are four Architecture Domains that form Enterprise Architecture

  1. Business Architecture
  2. Application Architecture
  3. Data Architecture
  4. Technology Architecture

It is suggested by TOGAF that a complete Enterprise Architecture should address all of the four architecture domains specified above. Each of the Enterprise Architecture domains are detailed below.

Business Architecture
Think of Business Architecture as a way of defining the business organisation, the business strategy and the key processes that form the business

Application Architecture
Application Architecture is a way to develop a template or blueprint for the deployment of the systems within the Application. Application Architecture also describes the relationships between the business processes and how they interact.

Data Architecture
Data Architecture details the definition and structure of an organisations physical and logical assets as well as the data management resources and assets

Technology Architecture
Technology Architecture provides a method to describe the software and hardware necessary to support the release of the organisations main applications