The phases of TOGAF

The Architecture Development Process (ADM) is a process that is continually improved via feedback from other frameworks, previous iterations and other models based on:

  • Value
  • Competency
  • Availability

The ADM is the core of the TOGAF Framework and is comprised of nine main phases:

  1. Preliminary Phase
  2. Architecture Vision – Phase A
  3. Business Architecture – Phase B
  4. Information System Architectures – Phase C
  5. Technology Architecture – Phase D
  6. Opportunities and Solutions – Phase E
  7. Migration Planning – Phase F
  8. Implementation Governance – Phase G
  9. Architecture Change Management – Phase H

In among all of these phases is Requirements Management which ensures that each phase validates and is based upon the business requirements.

Preliminary Phase

The Preliminary Phase is the phase where an organisation is prepared for a successful architecture project

Architecture Vision – Phase A

The Architecture Vision or Phase A sets the constraints, expectations and scope for a TOGAF project and also creates the vision of the architecture.

Business Architecture – Phase B

The Business Architecture or Phase B is where the business architecture is developed; specifically Target and Baseline architectures as well as any gap analysis.

Information System Architectures – Phase C

The Information System Architectures or Phase C is where the Information Systems architectures are developed; specifically Target and Baseline architectures as well as any gap analysis. The Information System Architecture or Phase C will cover both the Data and Application Domains.

Technology Architecture – Phase D

The Technology Architecture or Phase D is where Technology Architectures are developed; specifically the Target and Baseline architectures as well as any gap analysis.

Opportunities and Solutions – Phase E

Opportunities and Solutions or Phase E is an extremely important phase of TOGAF because:

  • Where an architect starts migration planning and the initial implementation.
  • Decides on if they will be using any Transition Architectures.
  • Helps to Opportunities and Solutions (Phase E) into context

Migration Planning – Phase F

Migration Planning or Phase F is where any potential risks, benefits and costs are analysed to develop a detailed implementation and migration plan.

Implementation Governance – Phase G

Implementation Governance or Phase G is used to provide an oversight of the architectural implementation to ensure that the implementation will confirm to the architecture.

Architecture Change Management – Phase H

The Architecture Change Management or Phase H provides a change management process and continual monitoring of the proposed architecture. This process ensures that the architecture will respond to the needs of the Enterprise.

The TOGAF ADM explained; briefly

The ADM (Architecture Development Method) is the main framework as dictated by TOGAF and is a way of extracting organisation-specific Enterprise Architecture.

TOGAF as a framework emerged from the contributions of countless Enterprise Architecture professionals and provides a process for developing Architectures that are:

  • Able to be easily repeated
  • Stable and tested

The TOGAF ADM provides a set of activities that are able to be performed with an iterative approach which constantly refines the architecture definition. This iterative approach is designed to address the business (and IT) needs by providing:

  • A set of guidelines for tools that can be used for the development of architecture
  • A method for managing the requirements
  • A recommended set of deliverables
  • A set of Architecture Views such as: Data, Application, Technology and Business.

The main activities within the iterative TOGAF ADM cycle are:

  • Establishing an Architecture Framework
  • Developing Architecture Content
  • Transitioning architectures
  • Governing the architecture into realisation

Techniques and Guidelines

TOGAF provides a set of techniques and guidelines that will assist the architect when following the Architecture Design Method (ADM)

Techniques are a way to provide support for tasks that fall inside the ADM; for example, risk management, gap analysis, planning for migration

Guidelines provide a way to adapt the ADM when dealing with a variety of differing scenarios which may include various process styles and also set requirements

The core of the Architecture Development Method – ADM

The diagram below displays the core of the TOGAF Architecture Development Method otherwise known as the TOGAF ADM. The TOGAF ADM provides a step by step approach to Enterprise Architecture

TOGAF Architecture Development Method

It is important to understand that TOGAF consists of six different components – The six components are:

  1. The TOGAF ADM (As shown above)
  2. An Architecture Content Framework – This framework is used to model the work products that will form the architecture. The Architecture Content Framework contains artifacts, deliverables and the building blocks (Otherwise known as Architecture Building Blocks or ABBs) that the deliverables will represent.
  3. Techniques and guidelines that are able to be used by an organisation when following the Architecture Development Method process.
  4. The Architecture Capability Framework that can be used to define roles, skills, responsibilities and other reference and guideline materials needed to create and operate an Enterprise Architecture within an organisation
  5. The Enterprise Continuum – A model that provides a way for an organisation to structure an Architecture Repository. The Enterprise Continuum also provides a way for classifying solution and architecture artifacts.
  6. The TOGAF library – The TOGAF library is a supporting reference library that contains templates, guidelines and other reference material to help expedite the creation of Enterprise Architectures.