Posted on


In the context of TOGAF the term Interoperability is defined as:

“The ability to share information and services”

The key element is being able to define the degree to which crucial services and information are to be shared. Within the TOGAF Architecture Development Method interoperability occurs in phases A through to F (From the Architecture Vision Phase through to the Migration Planning Phase).

Phase A – The Architecture Vision Phase

In Phase A Business Scenarios are used to discover the nature and security considerations of any information and security exchanges.

Phase B – Business Architecture Phase

During Phase B Business Terms are used to define information and service exchanges.

Phase C – Information Systems Architecture Phase

During Phase C The Information Exchange Model sometimes in association with Corporate Data is used to detail the content of information exchanges. It is during this phase that the way applications are to share information is specified.

Phase D – Technology Architecture Phase

In Phase D the appropriate technical mechanisms to allow information and service exchanges are detailed.

Phase E – Opportunities and Solutions Phase

In Phase E the actual solutions that will be implemented are chosen.

Phase F – Migration and Planning Phase

During Phase F interoperability is logically implemented.